apricot mustard glaze

My husband loves sauces. Since we met, I have taken quite a liking to them as well. Sauces are one thing I have come to miss since my gluten free days began. So few of them are actually gluten, dairy and soy free. Alas, this past weekend I stumbled upon a great sauce recipe. I made it yesterday for dinner (we had some family in town). We were all fighting over it. I originally made it for the chicken. But, I found myself slathering it on my salmon. My mom was dipping her green beans and carrots in it. So, at this point, I feel it is safe to say that this sauce can be paired with anything savory you like (except fruit). In my opinion, it would not work as an (appetizer) dip – but rather something to accompany what’s on your lunch or dinner plate. This recipe is adapted from my all-time favorite cooking periodical – Cook’s Illustrated.

3/4 cups 100% fruit apricot jam (I really like Bionaturae – it’s very low sugar and nothing added)
1/4 whole grain gluten free mustard (I really like True Natural Taste)
3 tblsp gluten free dijon mustard
4 tblsp liquified (melted) coconut oil
2 medium shallots, coarsely chopped
1/2 tsp kosher salt
3 tblsp filtered water

  1. Place all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a metal blade. Process until combined (about 20 seconds).
  2. If using for chicken or fish, you can glaze it just prior to putting on the grill (using half the mixture). Then serve the other half of the mixture at the table in a bowl. Take extra special care not to serve the glaze that has been in contact with the raw meat or fish. Please discard it.
  3. If you still have enough left so that it needs to be refrigerated, please bring the sauce back to room temperature before serving….

Leave a comment

Filed under brunch, dinner, fish, lunch, main course, vegetables

Leave a comment