maple masala pecans

DSC_0574This past Saturday morning, we went and strolled around the farmers’ market. We  came across some great finds. I bought some incredibly beautiful Batavian lettuce – which I proceeded to savor each night for 4 nights straight. Sadly, it is now gone. And I shall have to wait until Saturday morning to go back to the market and buy some more delicious-ness. I can hardly stand the wait. I would have loved to have joined a CSA this year. But, as our home is up for sale  – and we are unsure as to whether it is going to sell or not – we simply could not take the chance of buying a CSA share only to move away.

Another little gem we found at the market were Olomomo gluten free flavored nuts from a local Boulder-based company. They had samples at the ready – the “masala” were our favorites. Even the kids went nuts over these treats. No pun intended there. They were a wee bit on the expensive side but we treated ourselves to a small bag anyway. And after the bag was gone – which, I admit , did not take long at all – I decided to make some.  As I put the tray on the counter-top at snack time – my kids assumed the position and declared, “these are GOOD mommy!”  I actually had to cut them off….

I used Grade B maple syrup on these. Grade B contains more vitamins and minerals than the more expensive Grade A.

2 1/2 cups raw pecans, soaked overnight in filtered water
1 tblsp garam masala
3 tblsps maple syrup
1 tblsp turbinado sugar

  1. Combine the garam masala, maple syrup and sugar in a small bowl and whisk to combine. Pour over the soaked and rinsed nuts and stir to make sure all the nuts are coated.
  2. Line a cookie sheet or baking tray with parchment and spread out the nuts in a single layer.
  3. You can dehydrate them. Or you can put your oven on the “warm” feature and let sit in the warm oven for 3-4 hours until they are dried.
  4. Store in a covered container.

Leave a comment

Filed under appetizer, holiday, snacks

Leave a comment